Home  /  About  /  Oklahoma Mining Commission

Oklahoma Department of Mines Mining Commission

The State Legislature abolished the State Mining Board and replaced it with the Oklahoma Mining Commission.  This nine-member board, which held it's first meeting in Januray 1986, is the policy-determining body of the Department of Mines and sets forth the broad plans and programs of the Department.

The Commission members are appointed by the Governor and subject to approval by the Senate for seven (7) year staggered terms.  The membership of the Commission consists of one person with experience in each of the following fields: engineering or geology, labor or worker's safety, agriculture or soil conservation, transportation, economic development or banking, public utilities, natural resources, and two persons selected at large.

The Commission also selects the Director of the Oklahoma Department of Mines.  The Commission maintains its office in Oklahoma City at the main office of the Oklahoma Department of Mines.

The Oklahoma Department of Mines Commissioners

J. Clement Burdick III
Vice Chairman
Position #1:
Engineering/Geology
Term Ends: 1/1/2022
Clement.Burdick@mines.ok.gov
405-522-9213
Kurt Klutts
Postion #2:
Labor/Workers' Safety
Term Ends: 1/1/2024
Kurt.Klutts@mines.ok.gov
405-522-9214
George E. Fraley
Chairman
Position #3:
Agriculture/Conservation
Term Ends: 1/1/2020
Geroge.Fraley@mines.ok.gov
405-522-9215
B. David Donoley
Position #4:
Transportation
Term Ends: 1/1/2020
Dave.Donoley@mines.ok.gov
405-522-9216
Jed Winters
Position #5:
Banking/Economic Development
Term Ends: 1/1/2021
Jed.Winters@mines.ok.gov
405-522-9217
Tommy Caldwell
Position #6:
Public Utilities
Term Ends: 1/1/2019
Tommy.Caldwell@mines.ok.gov
405-522-9218
John J. Curtis
Position #7:
Natural Resources
Term Ends: 1/1/2021
John. Curtis@mines.ok.gov
405-522-9219
Ron Cunningham
Secretary
Position #8:
At-Large
Term Ends: 1/1/2023
Ron.Cunningham@mines.ok.gov
405-522-9220
Tim D. Lochridge
Position #9:
At-Large
Term Ends: 1/1/2018
Tim.Lochridge@mines.ok.gov
405-522-9221